• Karen

Books From Home

Updated: Mar 23, 2020

With the current situation many people are self isolating or in quarantine but might be feeling well enough to read a book or two, but where to get books if you can’t go out? Particularly if you want to keep supporting an independent bookshop and don’t have an e-reader (or just like paper books sometimes). Inspired by the author Tasha Suri who put together a crowd sourced list on twitter, here are a few links to places where you can order books online or by phone (inclusion in this list is not necessarily endorsement).


There is also a link to some free stories at the bottom of the page!


If you want to buy directly from smaller Independent Publishers then do check out this article.



Pile of books, photo by Jade Stephens via Unsplash
books

London

There is a list of London bookshops in this article by the Evening Standard.

Gay’s the Word They are working on their website http://www.gaystheword.co.uk/ but in the meantime you can email them sales@gaystheword.co.uk

Round Table Books Order via their website https://www.roundtablebooks.co.uk/

The Second Shelf Order via email info@thesecondshelf.com details on their website https://thesecondshelf.com/

Persephone Books Order via their website http://www.persephonebooks.co.uk/

The Alligator‘s Mouth Order via their website https://www.thealligatorsmouth.co.uk/

Newham Books Taking orders via phone 020 8552 9993 and email info@newhambooks.co.uk website https://www.newhambooks.co.uk/

Goldsboro Books Order via their website https://www.goldsborobooks.com/

Kirkdale Bookshop Order via phone 020 8778 4701 email mail@kirkdalebookshop.com or via their website https://kirkdalebookshop.com/

Treadwells Bookshop Order via their website https://www.treadwells-london.com/

Henry Sotheran Ltd

Order via their Website https://sotherans.co.uk/


Middlesex/Greater London Brooks Pinner Order via their website https://www.brookspinner.com/


Somerset Books on The Hill Order by phone 01275 873647 or email info@booksonthehill.co.uk or order via their website https://www.booksonthehill.co.uk/


Devon Dogberry & Finch Books Order by phone 01837 657563 or email info@dogberryandfinch.co.uk , their website https://www.dogberryandfinch.co.uk


Norwich The Book Hive Order via their website https://www.thebookhive.co.uk/


Wales Richard Booth‘s Books Taking orders via email books@boothbooks.co.uk or phone 01497 820322 their website http://boothbooks.co.uk/


Derbyshire Scarthin Books Taking order via phone 01629 823272 or email nickscarthin@gmail.com more details on their website http://www.scarthinbooks.com/


Yorkshire Portal Bookshop Are taking order via email portalbookshop@gmail.com website details http://portalbookshop.com/

Imagined Things Bookshop Order via their website https://imaginedthings.co.uk/


Manchester Paramount Order from their website http://paramountbooks.co.uk/

Chapter One Order from their website https://www.chapteronebooks.co.uk/


Glasgow Category is books They are taking order by email categoryisbooks@gmail.com more details on their website